China Dolls by Lisa See

* Picture from Amazon*

Format read: Paperback

Genre: Historical Fiction

Rating: 3 out of 10

Plot: This book is about three young Asian women who are trying to achieve stardom in the years up to and throughout World War II.  The women are joined together by their common goals but are each hiding secrets from each other that threaten to tear them apart.

Opinion: I was not a fan of this book.  The only reason I rated it as high as I did is that I somehow managed to finish it, although I’ll be honest, I wanted to quit reading about halfway through.  I thought that the plot seemed to go nowhere and there was a very weak attempt to create drama, but it came across as pettiness.  Also, the main characters got on my nerves and didn’t seem real.  The book is told from the vantage point of each of the three main characters, and even when I was reading from a particular character’s viewpoint, they still weren’t likable.  I was disappointed because this book sounded really good and I’ve enjoyed Ms. See’s other books.  If you are looking to read one of her books, skip this one and read Snow Flower and the Secret Fan instead.

Next book: Abridged Biography of the Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.) by Imam Muhammad Ibn Abdul Wahhab At-Tamimi

Leave a Reply

