The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

* Picture from Amazon*

Format read: Paperback

Genre: Historical Fiction

Rating: 6 out of 10

Plot: Liesel is a foster child growing up in Nazi Germany.  As she adapts to her new family, she must also adjust to the changes that World War II brings to Germany.

Opinion: I had a difficult time getting into this book.  The narrator is not the main character, but Death, so the story has a detached feel that was tough for me to get into.  Also, I felt that the ending was rushed; it seemed like there was a big build-up to something, and then the story quickly ended.  I think this is a good book if you’re just looking for something to pass the time, but I think there are so many books that deal with this same subject matter that are much better.

Next book: The Prophet of Peace: Teachings of the Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.) by Maulana Wahiduddin Khan

* Since I only read one book in January, I’m not doing a monthly wrap-up.  I’m hoping that now that things have settled down in the semester I will have more free time to read, but time will tell. *

Leave a Reply

