June Wrap-Up

This past month was a pretty good reading month for me.  I read six books this month, which is slightly less than last month, but still above the normal amount I read.  I read such a wide variety of everything from history to contemporary.  My favorite book of the month was Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline.  I thought that despite having such a cheesy ending, it was a pretty good book and I have already lent out my copy to a friend.  The worst book I read this month was  All the Flowers in Shanghai by Duncan Jepson, which not only did I hate the main character, but I had serious problems with the writing style of it.

Here’s a quick list of the books I read this month with the ratings I gave them:

  1.  Harry Potter and History by Nancy Reagin (5 out of 10 stars)
  2. Mousetrapped by Catherine Ryan Howard (8 out of 10 stars)
  3. Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline (8 out of 10 stars)
  4. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (6 out of 10 stars)
  5. Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood by Marjane Sartrapi (7 out of 10 stars)
  6. All the Flowers in Shanghai by Duncan Jepson (3.5 out of 10 stars)

Since the majority of the month of July is Ramadan, I will be reading Islamic books.  Even though a lot of these books really aren’t that long, they are not quick reads, so I probably won’t have a long list.

Leave a Reply

