Top 5 Books

I’ve decided to do a post about my top five favorite books.  These are the books that I’ve recommended over and over to friends, family, and even professors.  All of the pictures are from Amazon.

1.  A Tree Grows in Brooklyn By Betty Smith

I first read this book in high school and fell in love with it then.  It’s a coming-of-age story that takes place in the turn-of-the-century in Brooklyn.  I just love the characters and how they struggle against all odds to make it in a world that looked down on immigrants.  This is a great book for anyone who love historical fiction.

2. The Sealed Nectar by Safi-ur-Rahman al-Mubarkpuri

This is a book of Seerah (biography of the Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.)).  I recommend this book to Muslims and also to non-Muslims who want to understand the life of the Prophet (s.a.w.).  It goes into a lot of detail, but it’s written in a way that is easy to read and understand regardless of your level of knowledge of Islam.

3. Wicked by Gregory Maguire

This book is a retelling of the Wizard of Oz, but from the persepctive of the Wicked Witch.  It has been made into a Broadway play, which I hope to see one day.  I really loved this book and it was one of the first fairy tale retellings that I’ve read.  One thing I will say though is that the rest of the books in this series are not nearly as good as this one.

4. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

This book is about two women who find themselves married to a cruel man and the choices they make to give one of them a chance at a new future.  I was really drawn into the characters and was rooting for a happy ending for both.  This is the same author who wrote The Kite Runner, which I also loved, but if I had to pick one book of his to recommend, this one would be it.

5. Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

This is the story of a woman who was sold into a geisha house and her experiences as a geisha.  Unlike popular notions, geishas are not prostitutes, but are women who have undergone years of training in various arts to be able to entertain men.  Not only is this the story of what it’s like to be a geisha, but it’s a love story too.  This has been made into a movie, but I think the book is much better.

 

So those are my top five favorite books.  There are so many other books that I have read and thoroughly enjoyed, but these are the ones that I recommend the most.

Leave a Reply

