The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

* Picture from examiner.com*

Format read: Paperback

Genre: Contemporary

Rating: 6 out of 10

Plot: Hazel has cancer.  She is living on borrowed time, thanks to a miracle drug.  Her mother decides that she is spending too much time alone and sends her to a cancer support group where she meets Augustus.  Despite the fact that she’s dying, Augustus teaches Hazel how to live and love with whatever time you have left.

Opinion: I’m conflicted about this book.  There were parts that I just couldn’t put the book down and there were parts that were very difficult to get through.  I think my main problem with this book is the way the characters were talking to each other.  They were talking to each other in a manner that I’ve never heard teens talk to each other, sick or not.  I think I would’ve enjoyed the book more if the characters didn’t sound like they were working on a philosophy dissertation.  I think it’s a good story, but you have to get through the language to enjoy it.

Next book: Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood by Marjane

* Edit: I was thinking about this book and realized that this book is similar in the way of topic to an author I used to love reading, Lurlene McDaniel.  She’s an author who wrote a lot of YA books about terminally sick teenagers, but I think her characters were more realistic and the books were generally well written.  If you like The Fault in Our Stars, or if you read this book and thought that the topic was good but the characters were not, check out her books!

Leave a Reply

