May Wrap-Up

Since I have a much more reliable site to blog, I figured I’d start doing monthly wrap-ups.  I managed to finish eight books, which is really great for me.  Part of this is due to my participation in the Bout-of-books 10.0 read-a-thon, which was the first read-a-thon I’ve participated in.  I’ve already done a review on all of the books (for those read before I joined this site, please view http://cbiley1984.blog.com/), so I’m just going to give the books I’ve read and the ratings I gave them.  My two favorite books of the month are Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and The Girl in the Garden by Kamala Nair.  I have been in a little bit of a reading slump lately in that I’ve been picking books that sounded good but really sucked, so those two books were a welcome change.  The worst book I read this month were Growing Up Duggar by Jana, Jill, Jessa, and Jinger Duggar.  This book was terribly written and was more about their family’s religious views than it was about what it was like growing up in their household.  Anyhow, here’s the books I’ve read for the month:

  1. Reign of Madness by Lynn Collen (6 out of 10)
  2. Fiqh-ad-Dawah by Somayah Kassas (7 out of 10)
  3. Growing Up Duggar by Jana, Jill, Jessa, and Jinger Duggar (2 out of 10)
  4. A Girl Made of Dust by Nathalie Abi-Ezzi (8 out of 10)
  5. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (8 out of 10)
  6. The Gunslinger by Stephen King (6 out of 10)
  7. Faith Versus Materialism: The Message of Surah al-Kahf by Sayed Abul Hasan Ali Nadwi (7 out of 10)
  8. The Girl in the Garden by Kamala Nair (9 out of 10)

I don’t have any plans to do a TBR list for the month.  I am never sure how many books I’ll get through in a month, and besides, I oftentimes will pick up a book based on my mood at that moment.

Leave a Reply

